Talking to myself

Do you talk to yourself when you’re working out? I carry on entire conversations in my head when it gets hard in order to keep going. Some clips from this morning’s leg training:

During a million reps of barbell lunges that followed leg extensions and weighted up and down the ramp lunges: This is what you want. Back under the barbell. Do it.

During 20-lb dumbbell in each hand up and down the ramp lunges: You can throw up when you finish if you need to

During 15-lb dumbbell in each hand up and down the ramp lunges that immediately followed the 20-lb set: You’re a monster. Strong! Just keep going!

During 12-lb dumbbell in each hand up and down the ramp lunges that immediately followed the 20-lb and 15-lb set: Left foot. Right foot. Don’t fall. Head up. Shoulders back. Almost there. Hang on.

During wall sit that immediately followed the lunges that had fried my legs: You’re joking. No way. I can’t do this, my legs are shot. Ok. You’re going to do this. (as first the right leg and then the left begin to shake and convulse) You’re not quitting, you’re NOT quitting, hold on, DON”T give up, do NOT give up (squeezing with a death grip my trainers hands that he held out to keep me from falling and sounding to anyone who would have happened to walk in at that moment like I might be in labor) YOU DON’T QUIT!

And I didn’t quit. That was by far the nearest I’ve come to giving up since I’ve been at my new gym. There was no way I could hold a wall sit. Until I told myself I could. And I felt like a million bucks after.

What do you say to keep yourself going when you think you can’t?

4 thoughts on “Talking to myself

  1. Usually it’s “Keep your ass down and your knees out” when squatting. And “I’m not tired, and think of the posers you know who think they are badasses for running.” The latter bit might not be fair to them, but I’m tired of people saying running is the BEST THING EVER when it’s not for everyone.

Leave a Reply

