The real fight is getting there

I’m borrowing (and tweaking) a quote from, of all things, a commercial — but a cool training montage of a commercial:

The real fight is getting there. Once I’m under the bar, I’ve won.

Perfect reminder for me today, as I go under the bar with 200 pounds on my back. I’m not just walking up to this out of nowhere. I’ve put in the work. I’ve trained hard, I’ve done my speed work, my reps, my work on form, my max reps, my accessory work. I’ve gotten up early, I’ve trained when I was tired or didn’t feel well. I’ve done it all because I want this. And I believe I can do it. So I’ve already fought for it. Now it’s just time to do it.

Leave a Reply

