‘I figured that if I said it enough, I would convince the world that I really was the greatest’

When I think about confidence I think of Muhammad Ali. Did he say he was great because he was? Or was he great because he said he was?

It’s lack of faith that makes people afraid of meeting challenges, and I believed in myself.

To reach my goals I have to believe I can do it. I have to have the utmost confidence in my strength, my training and my mental toughness. Because no matter how strong I may be, if I don’t have 100% faith in my ability to move that weight, I can promise it won’t go anywhere.
That can be hard. I don’t always believe I’m that strong. It’s also not how women are “supposed” to act, right? Men can be cocky – that seems to be their birthright. But give a woman a compliment and what’s she often do? Negate it. (read this btw) It doesn’t come naturally to say, “I’m the greatest,” even if I only mean “I’m the greatest I can be for me.” Will people think I’m being arrogant, overconfident? Maybe. But here’s the deal. I can worry about what people think, or I can save my energy for convincing myself that I’m the greatest I can be. That I can and I will move that bar when it’s time.
It’s the repetition of affirmations that leads to belief. And once that belief becomes a deep conviction, things begin to happen.
I don’t set goals that are going to be easy. I’ve made four of the five goals I set for the year so far because I worked for them, and the hardest is saved for last. I I can’t get any stronger in the next week, so I have a week of another kind of training — I have to convince myself that I am strong enough, I do have what it takes, and I will squat 200 pounds.

My Halloween costume came with a belt that said Champion. Maybe I just need to wear it every day!

I have moments I think of course I can do it — I’ve added 15 pounds to my bench since this summer, at least 20 pounds to my deadlift. I have to have added 20 to my squat. Then I think about how freaking heavy 200 pounds really is. It’s only a few pounds shy of twice my body weight. And I start to wonder what makes me think I can take something like that on anyway? How is that even possible? But I can’t think like that.

Impossible is not a fact. It’s an opinion. Impossible is not a declaration. It’s a dare. Impossible is potential. Impossible is temporary. Impossible is nothing.
So until I can convince myself for real that I can do this thing, I’ll take the champ’s advice:
To be a great champion you must believe you are the best. If you’re not, pretend you are.

And to remind myself that I can do what I set out to do, this is my latest goal — I had hoped to be able to do it by the time I come back from my trip, but I’m ahead of schedule!

 

Check out some more Ali quotes

One thought on “‘I figured that if I said it enough, I would convince the world that I really was the greatest’

Leave a Reply

