It’s 6 o’clock. Do you know where your arse is?

Bottom's up

I don’t generally give that much thought to my rear end. ‘Does it look ok in jeans?’ is about the extent of its presence in my mind. It’s there when I need to sit on it, and I know because of what I can squat that it’s a strong arse.  But the damn thing has a mind of its own.

I can know, and Ben can tell me, that it needs to stay down when I’m deadlifting, but  my butt’s not getting the message. And for some reason, when I grab the bar it rises of its own accord, a freaking helium balloon just bobbing up on the breeze. That’s terribly inconvenient when I’m trying to pull a heavy weight off the floor.  The funny and infuriating thing is that I don’t have the faintest idea what it’s doing back there. In fact I would swear it hadn’t moved, until Ben shows me the evidence in a video. And sure enough, there it goes, straight up toward the ceiling.

I worked on sumo deadlifts Friday, and I’m not as strong that way as conventional, but I like them for the way I can pull my way out of a sticking point. I don’t have that ability with conventional pulls. With that style it either comes up all the way, or only a little. With sumo if I get it off the ground and keep pulling and leaning back, it’s eventually going to come up, even if it’s super slow. But when my arse flies up, the bar’s going to cling to the floor for dear life.

It’s frustrating, not only because I want to complete the lift then and there, but because I want to get stronger, and I don’t get stronger by fighting a bar that’s stuck to the floor while my rear end goes for a hot air balloon ride. I was going for a heavy four, and I made it at 170, which was a disappointing number, even though Ben told me my number wouldn’t be high after my heavy box squats (215 for two!). But at 175 I only got three. I sighed at what I felt like was a lack of strength, then Ben showed me the video. I had to laugh, even as mad as it made me, to see how independently my butt operated from the rest of me.

I’m stumped. I don’t know how to keep it down, short of some bizarre contraption that could maybe zap me if it rises above a reasonable level. I dunno, maybe I should see what I can rig up!


I cringe to watch this but I’m posting it as a reminder to myself to Keep. My. Arse. Down!

4 thoughts on “It’s 6 o’clock. Do you know where your arse is?

  1. Hey Dana,

    is the 200 pound deadlift in the bag yet? 🙂

    I’ve found with my trainees that once the weights get heavy on the sumo, their form breaks down because they’re trying to “lift” the weight up… but once they concentrate on gripping the bar with white knuckles, “falling” back, extending the legs and bringing the hips forward as soon as possible they can do it perfectly.

    I think it was a Youtube vid by Dave Tate where he explained how leaning back with the weight instead of trying to pull it up automatically shortens the ROM and prevents your ass from shooting up… and the bar will hold you in place so there’s no need to worry about falling backwards.

    One of my girls got the hang of the sumo DL yesterday – I’m sure you’ll do too!

Leave a Reply

