Put the girl weights down

Nearing the end of my first Max Fit USA powerlifting WOD today I started my farmer carries. Thinking I was being clever, I picked up kettle bells instead of dumbbells.  The smaller handles on the 32-lb weights would make it less likely that I’d drop them like I think I will with the 30-lb dumb bells. I marched around twice, pleased with my new plan.

Then Ben noticed what I was carrying. “Put down the girl weights!” he said. I thought he was kidding. The next set up each weigh half as much as me. But it wasn’t a joke. “You want to do more on your deadlift, it starts here,” he said.

After a part motivational talk, part reprimand  from coach this morning about my disappointment with my deadlift max yesterday (in a nutshell I’m too hard on myself — I learned 10 pounds is a respectable increase, especially given the gains I’ve made in other areas like handstand push-ups — and I need to focus more on technique) I wasn’t about to argue that they were too heavy.

It felt like quite a feat to even pick the 53-pound kettle bells up. Really, I was meant to carry them 20 yards? But after Ben had called the other ones girl weights I’d as soon have streaked down Market St than drop them, even though it felt like my arms might fall off.

Next time I’ll know better than to pick up girl weights. 🙂

I got your girl weights right here

2 thoughts on “Put the girl weights down

  1. I was very happy to find this internet-site.I needed to thanks to your time for this excellent learn!! I undoubtedly having fun with every little little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to take a look at new stuff you blog post.

Leave a Reply

