Having my biscuits and eating them too

almond flour biscuits

As good, if not better, than your grandma's!

At last my desire to meet a specific strength goal (more on that later when and if I feel it’s going to be attainable) reined in my food writer’s unbridled urge to eat everything. For the last month I’ve made a pretty radical shift to a diet far higher in protein than ever before, and thus, drastically lower in carbs.

While I don’t think I could ever realistically follow a Paleo diet, I have essentially limited my carbs to vegetables, some fruits, and a whole wheat wrap once in a while. One day a week though – my hardest workout day – I’m eating what now feels like a lovely large helping of carbs. This carb-cycling, Ben has explained, should aid in my recovery, while the protein I’m blasting my body with should of course help build those muscles I’m working on so hard.

While I want my goal very, very much, I have to admit the low-carb thing makes me cranky. I am so happy when Fridays roll around, and I plot days in advance what I’ll eat. This most recent Friday I enjoyed a heavenly biscuit at lunch. The crumbly, warm bites of baked bliss left me longing to eat biscuits every day.

Then I remembered coming across this recipe. They looked like “normal” biscuits, not some fake-food wannabe, so I added almond flour to my shopping list. It came with a bit of sticker shock, ringing in at almost 14 bucks for a small package of it. But my desire for biscuits compelled me to spend the dough (ha) and as soon as we unloaded the grocery bags I made my first batch.

Fail.

The batter was like a pancake mixture and I ended up with flatbreads, not biscuits. Tasty flatbreads if that’s what you’re going for, but by no stretch of the imagination biscuits.

I couldn’t give up though. I made a second batch, this time reducing the egg and increasing the almond flour. Voila! Now I had what looked like a reasonable version of biscuit dough. And sure enough, they baked up liked biscuits, all golden brown and beautiful.

While they were still steaming hot, I shared one with my husband, who mightily approved. With the amount of butter in these, Paula Dean herself would approve. As crumbly and tender as a “real” biscuit, and immensely rich and satisfying, they promptly satisfied that biscuit jonesing, and left the house smelling lovely to boot.

I plan to have one in the mornings with an egg as a very filling start to the day. I’m keeping them wrapped in wax paper at room temperature, and will just heat them up in the toaster oven.

Here’s the recipe as I’ve adapted it.

Almond Flour Biscuits
4 large or 6 small biscuits

Grease a baking sheet and preheat oven to 350.

1 cup plus 1 tbsp almond flour
5 tbsp very cold butter, chopped into small pieces
3 large egg whites
½ tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder

In a good-sized bowl use a fork to mix the flour with the butter. This takes some work, but it’s worth it. After a few minutes you’ll have a crumbly mixture with pea-sized bits.

Add the egg whites, the salt and the baking soda. Mix it up just enough to combine it, but don’t overmix.

Spoon onto the greased baking sheet and bake for about 15 minutes. Switch the oven to broil and stay right there. Broil just long enough to crisp the tops – about a minute and a half.

Enjoy!

Nutrition Facts (based on making 4)
Calories 282
Total Fat 25.75g
Total Carbohydrate 4g
Dietary Fiber 3g
Sugars 1g
Protein 8g

Note: to make flatbread, increase egg whites to 4 and subtract the extra almond flour tbsp. Try adding some herbs or spices, and ground black pepper. Bake on a greased, rimmed baking sheer for 20 minutes at 350. These you can make in the food processor and save some work.

2 thoughts on “Having my biscuits and eating them too

  1. That sounds like a winning recipe! I’m going to try it since I already bit the bullet and bought the really expensive almond flour for another thing I made awhile ago. I’ve been keeping it in the freezer so it doesn’t go rancid or something. How does the end result differ when using a fork or a pastry blender to combine the flour and butter pieces?

  2. Hey Brenda, I think using the food processor broke it down too much. Using the fork kept it in little chunks that didn’t run and spread when I put them in the oven. They were good even leftover a couple days later, just heated up in a toaster oven.
    Dana

Leave a Reply

