Fonda ain't got a motor in the back of her Honda

In the immortal words of Sir Mix-a-Lot, “You can do side bends or sit-ups, but please don’t lose that butt!”

Sir Mix-a-Lot would have liked CrossFit women. “To the beanpole dames in the magazines/
You ain’t it miss thing” He needs a girl who does squats!

Mark Rippetoe (author of “Starting Strength”) explains the power of squats like this:

The squat trains the posterior chain more effectively than any other movement that uses them … The stretch reflex produces a much harder contraction … one that recruits many more motor units.

All this to say: if you squat, you’re going to round out your booty (not to mention carve out some definition in your abs and melt away any jiggle in your thighs.)

Don’t be afraid – it’s a good thing. Yes, your jeans may be loose in the waist and tight through the arse, but really, is that so bad? (My husband doesn’t think so!) Those pleasing curves you’re developing aren’t just aesthetic, either, they mean you are strong! You’re also developing balance, flexibility, endurance, and speed (read all about it here: http://www.stumptuous.com/learning-the-squat-2-why-squat)

I’ll be honest. When Ben showed me my squat video to explain how my second rep was better than the first (which it was) I gasped “whoah, my ass!” when I saw the large round blue bubbles under the bar. When I recovered from the shock of seeing how, umm, “juicy” (as Mix-a-Lot might call it) my “double” had become, I was actually rather pleased. I do a lot of sitting, and it would be all too easy to let it get wide – I’ll take round any day!

So get under the bar often, go heavy, and when you’re done, follow Mix-a-Lot’s admonition, and shake that healthy butt! (for inspiration, check this out: http://bit.ly/xfitbooty )

Little in the middle but she got much back – ha!

Leave a Reply

